26.2.16

Avalon Hotel Beverly Hills

During my time in LA, I returned to the Avalon Hotel in Beverly Hills, where I had also stayed the last time I was there in 2013. I really love the design of the rooms and it's one of the few styles that I would actually consider modelling my home bedroom after if it wasn't already set. 

Anyway, I was really anticipating my four nights stay at Avalon and I had booked a junior suite. When I arrived, I was told that the hotel had been overbooked ("we had the Grammys" was one of the given reasons, which I refused to accept as an excuse) and that my room wasn't available. To make a long story short, I got a king room and negotiated free parking as a compensation. Of course I was disappointed but what could I do? 

The room itself was not located in the main building but in the 'Canon building' across the street. It was spacious but the bathroom wasn't as nice as the one I had a couple of years ago because came with a bath tub and not a shower only. Overall, the maintenance was a bit lacking; not every corner was clean and one of the water bottles was expired since December 2015. And luckily I had brought my earplugs because the walls of the room were very thin. 

What I liked about my stay was that the valet service was really efficient. The valets were friendly and reliable. And as always, the Beverly Hills location was very convenient as the hotel is in a safe area and very close to Century City, the Beverly Center, The Grove (major shopping malls), as well as Melrose Avenue. Rodeo Drive is within walking distance. 

Would I stay at the Avalon Hotel a third time? Right now I would probably say no but if their rating goes up on Tripadvisor, I might consider it again.
Did you know? The Avalon Hotel used to be known as the Beverly Carlton Hotel and Marilyn Monroe lived there for a couple of years. 


9400 West Olympic Blvd
Beverly Hills, CA 90212
USA

45 comments

  1. Oh thats too bad! I am so sorry about not getting your room! Still sounds like a pretty swanky place
    xo
    www.laurajaneatelier.com

    ReplyDelete
  2. I like how the room looks, but I am sorry for the problems you had there :(

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh sorry, must have been pretty disappointing! At last the service was efficient but I dont suggest u to book again there for the third time in case!:P Happy weekend Anouk! xo

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm staggered that they wouldn't honour your booking or at least give you a room of a similar rate. Did they realize you were going to feature them on your site, you think they would have gone out of their way to be nice to you!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Sorry to hear that you had a bad experience, but hopefully the rating of the hotel goes up in the future. Have a lovely day, Anouk! xx

    "Top Lipstick Collections" // www.keenonbeauty.com

    ReplyDelete
  6. It's a bummer that you didn't get the original room you had booked since the one you ended up with wasn't as nice but at least the valet service was good and the hotel is centrally located.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Sorry to hear that you went through all this! At least they gave you a free parking. No, I didn't know these facts. Quite interesting though!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Can imagine the frustration... But the room itself, especially the first photo, does look rather nice decor-wise. I love the colours. x

    ReplyDelete
  9. Hello! Catching up again, my weekly visit! I saw the "if you fail to plan, plan to fail" quote, a good one! And the Avalon hotel bedroom seems nice, though what for an ordeal, to arrive and to get to know it was overbooked - well done for parking compensation! I also like tripadvisor reviews, so yes, if they go up, go again, if not, then book another hotel. The thin walls are also not a good thing, but I liked the pictures you took, seems to be nice!
    DenisesPlanet.com

    ReplyDelete
  10. So sorry to hear that the room wasn't as nice, but glad you got free parking! Hopefully, their rating goes up in the future!

    http://roadesque.com
    http://ourruins.com

    ReplyDelete
  11. Wow, that hotel looks beautiful. I love the decor and style of the room. I'll have to remember this place if i am ever in town. Thanks for sharing!

    http://www.mintnotion.com

    ReplyDelete
  12. What a great hotel!! I want to go there.

    http://poiseinwings.blogspot.com/

    ReplyDelete
  13. Sorry to hear your experience wasn't that great! That is really frustrating. At least you got free parking out of it, and you truly can't beat that location! Right by Rodeo Drive!? That's awesome!

    www.vintagelillies.com

    ReplyDelete
  14. That would really made me mad if they had told me they over sold and my room is gone. Why do hotels AND airlines do this? Do they not anticipate people who had PAID to actually show up? So ridiculous. I am glad you managed to have some compensation and from your IG I know you did at least have an enjoyable time while in LA :)

    ReplyDelete
  15. Too bad your room wasn't as nice as last time but this looks comfortable and cozy though!

    Tina
    www.justatinabit.com

    ReplyDelete
  16. It's so interesting about the history! It looks beautiful despite you not having the best experience. I hope the rest of your trip goes well!

    Mallory // Perhaps Bananas

    ReplyDelete
  17. Love the colour hue and design of this place! Sorry to hear about the bad experience. Hope it'll be better next time :)

    Stephanie | www.stephykeung.com

    ReplyDelete
  18. What a beautiful hotel! Love the pictures!
    xx Pisa
    www.inlovewithmyclothes.com

    ReplyDelete
  19. That's a beautiful hotel!

    ReplyDelete
  20. Wow the photography is amazing!! Love it!

    xx
    Xin

    http://xincerely.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  21. It's a shame you didn't have the best experience but the hotel looks really good though. Hope you enjoy your trip!

    www.blossomikebana.com

    ReplyDelete
  22. Oh what a gorgeous room! I really need to invent teleport finally lol! ♥

    Happy Weekend!
    xoxo Suzy ( ˘ ³˘)♥

    THE KAWAII PLANET

    ReplyDelete
  23. Carina Vardie2/27/2016 4:16 pm

    Your room looks beautiful, such a great hotel! Too bad about the overbooking, but at least they had other rooms and way to go for the negotiating!

    xo
    http://thepinkporcelaindoll.blogspot.it

    ReplyDelete
  24. Looks so fantastic! I'm in love with your travel stories!
    Love,
    Nilu

    <a href="http://bighairloudmouth.com/>BIG hair LOUD mouth</a>

    ReplyDelete
  25. This looks like a beautiful hotel. I love finding wonderful places to visit. Great post. Laura www.shehearts.net xo

    ReplyDelete
  26. The Hotel looks very stylish and very good location. It is historical too with Marilyn Monroe staying there. I know the area well because I like shopping at The Grove there in L.A.

    ReplyDelete
  27. That's a very nice hotel room! I would spend days in it! Too bad you didn't have a good impression of it this time around. Maybe third time will be a charm? But I do love its design! Makes me think of the 50s/60s :)

    ReplyDelete
  28. This hotel does look amazing, I have never been to Beverly Hills, I would love to go! Such a simplistic design and oh so chic! <3

    The Dazzle Guide

    ReplyDelete
  29. What a shame you got a bad impression this time visiting , the hotel looks beautiful otherwise! And Beverly Hills sounds amazing! xx

    Filippa ⎮ Always a Dot

    ReplyDelete
  30. This hotel looks just beautiful! I love how simple and chic the interior of your room is.

    https://forsevenseasons.wordpress.com

    ReplyDelete
  31. The hotel looks great . Love the pictures :)

    ReplyDelete
  32. This hotel looks so nice!

    http://violettedaily.com

    ReplyDelete
  33. The hotel look so luxurious & comfortable!
    I love every details of it, and how minimalistic it is <3

    Kaylee | JK's Dawn

    ReplyDelete
  34. So sad that you hadnt got a nice experience! :(

    Rakel ♥ www.alovelystyle.com

    ReplyDelete
  35. Wonderful pictures! This hotel looks so chic, I just love the interior decor!
    http://fashion-soup.com/

    ReplyDelete
  36. Dressed With Soul2/28/2016 7:13 pm

    Such a beautiful hotel!

    xx from Bavaria/Germany, Rena

    www.dressedwithsoul.com

    ReplyDelete
  37. What luxury! For a place that was booked up, still had some nice rooms to offer, eh :)

    ReplyDelete
  38. gah this looks stunning! xx http://britishmermaid.blogspot.co.uk

    ReplyDelete
  39. That is a bummer, I am sorry it was not what you expected!

    xx Kelly
    Sparkles and Shoes

    ReplyDelete
  40. Miss Baby Blue2/28/2016 11:54 pm

    Hey girl, great post! Love it!

    My new post is up, so please check it out http://missbabybluelove.blogspot.rs/2016/02/coffe-time.html

    A

    ReplyDelete
  41. i hate it when hotels get overbooked and they make all these excuses..
    thanks for sharing your honest thoughts on this location! :D


    Have a great week!
    Animated Confessions

    ReplyDelete
  42. PLAYING WITH APPAREL2/29/2016 3:24 am

    This is such a lovely hotel, hope to one day see it for myself! Great pics

    Happy Sunday!!

    Filipa xxx
    PlayingWithApparel.com | Instagram

    ReplyDelete
  43. That's so disappointing that they overbooked and you didn't get the room you intended - such a good, honest review! The hotel does look beautiful and chic from your pictures! Especially that cozy, marshmallow bed!

    xx, Caitlin
    www.wandererandwolf.com

    ReplyDelete
  44. Mademoiselle Coconath2/29/2016 4:57 am

    What a nice room!

    xx

    Mademoiselle Coconath

    http://mllecoconath.com

    ReplyDelete

© ANOUK | All rights reserved.