26.7.13

The Russian Tea Room (New York)


I had really been looking forward to have lunch at The Russian Tea Room. I had seen photos of it on other blogs and I was intrigued by what the experience would be like. 

The setting was truly charming like no other restaurant that I had been to before. The food was average: I had a goat cheese salad, vareniki (ravioli stuffed with vegetables) with mushroom sauce and a chocolate mousse. 

The reason why I will not return to this place is the terrible service. It started and ended with an unfriendly hostess. And what absolutely killed it for me was that the waiter brought the bill even though I had not asked for it. Sure, I had said no to tea or coffee but what if I had wanted a digestif? 

So, good for once but no do svidaniya (Russian for goodbye, literally means "until we meet again"). Their website states that "every experience is memorable at the Russian Tea Room". I agree, even the unpleasant ones.

36 comments

  1. sorry to hear you had a bad experience! that's too bad about the service..when I went the one thing I remembered was that the service was excellent. the atmosphere there is great though

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm sure that if I went back several times, there would be some occasions where I would think that it was a great place. But after this I'm pretty much put off...

      Delete
  2. What a shame as the setting & food looked lovely, good service is so important in any industry.
    Have a wonderful weekend Hun xoxo
    http://www.intotheblonde.com/

    ReplyDelete
  3. OMG that's horrible. I've heard and seen so many good things about this place. I know I few friends have eaten here and never had problems with service or food. Maybe that girl was just having a shitty day and unfortunately for you she took it out on you.

    SDMxx
    www.daringcoco.com

    ReplyDelete
  4. Experience is important even if it's unpleasant.The good thing is that you finally got to the place and have your opinion about it)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Le cadre est fort sympathique ! Bonne journée.
    Suzanne d'Orléans.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Too bad the service was aweful... Because the place looks nice!
    xoxo

    ReplyDelete
  7. well, that bill-thing is really a killer. how impolite and unfriendly. unbelievable! honestly I would have complained immediatly, asking to see his boss right away.
    anyway, wish you a beautiful weekend, julia

    ReplyDelete
  8. Sorry! Looks great and the food as well, but it's unthinkable to return after this. I wouldn't.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Such a pity! Obviously this place has started trading solely off its history and reputation and that tends to be the kiss of death..

    ReplyDelete
  10. Hi Anouka! Sorry you had such a bad experience with the service, is a very annoying thing when it happens, I get you! Btw, the place looks very classy and chic, at least you gave it a try!:) Kisses and have a great weekend! xo

    ReplyDelete
  11. That's such a shame that you had bad service because it looks like such a lovely place!

    Hannah x
    http://b-l-a-b.blogspot.co.uk/

    ReplyDelete
  12. Aw sorry to hear that you had a bad experience there, that's so disappointing!

    xo, Yi-chia
    Always Maylee

    ReplyDelete
  13. ohh I've heard so much about the Russian tea room! and it looks beautiful inside.. i'm sad to hear that experience was so lukewarm.. that's the unfortunate thing about places that are well known.. I feel like they think they can treat patrons however they want!!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Oh it's beautiful :)
    And like everytime I love all you eat :)

    New post - Kisses
    http://www.mademoisellemode.com/

    ReplyDelete
  15. how dreamy is it here?! love love love it!

    xxx
    Lady à la Mode

    ReplyDelete
  16. Lovely presentation my dear. And amazing food pics as always.
    Miss Margaret Cruzemark
    http://margaretcruzemark.blogspot.com/

    ReplyDelete
  17. Sorry to hear about the bad service. I still want to try the place - the atmosphere looks nice.

    LA By Diana Live Magazine

    ReplyDelete
  18. What a beautiful place and food! Sorry to hear about the bad service, especially about that bill thing! So rude..

    ReplyDelete
  19. The decor is so opulent and unlike anything I have seen before, its such a pity about the service! Have a fab weekend hun!

    ReplyDelete
  20. That is terrible! What's the point of having beautiful decorations if the service is terrible!

    ReplyDelete
  21. sorry to hear that you had a bad experience there, the place looks very nice!

    The Fashion Heels
    Facebook
    Bloglovin

    ReplyDelete
  22. That place looks exactly like a place I went to in Amsterdam. I'm sorry you had such bad service though! I kind of like that they brought the bill without you asking. I always find that in restaurants they are overly eager to take your order, but then it is so hard to get their attention to ask for the bill!

    Corinne x
    www.skinnedcartree.com

    ReplyDelete
  23. That's too unfortunate to experience bad service in a place like The Russian Tea Room. It must be all hype. But at least you have tried it there in NYC.

    ReplyDelete
  24. The location and food looks great, I think you made a perfect choice with what dishes you ate! However so sad that the waiters weren´t friendly, I think that should be self-evident in such a place :/
    xx
    www.clothesandcamera.com

    ReplyDelete
  25. It seems such amazing place, it's a pity you had so bad experience!
    I'm pretty disappointed too!
    xxx
    S
    http://s-fashion-avenue.blogspot.it

    ReplyDelete
  26. the photos look lovely but it's such a shame when the service lets a place down! xxx

    I left my heart in Miami

    ReplyDelete
  27. Too bad the experience wasn't as good as you had hoped. I hate it when the service is bad.

    ReplyDelete
  28. the photos look beautiful! It just sucks that the service wasn't good. I hate when things like that happen!

    http://www.mybrokeneggshells.com/

    ReplyDelete
  29. I have seen that place when I go to New York, and wanted to stop there! I guess I'm warned now though, how sad that there is terrible service! At least the restaurant looks very pretty and charming!

    Francesca

    ReplyDelete
  30. I remember watching an episode of Sex and the City when Carrie was meeting the Russian guy at a tea room 1am for supper. That's unfortunate the rude service. You always feels like being rushed out of the restaurant when they do that.
    Thanks for the suggestion about battling bloatiness lol
    No worries I just need to work out more and eat less salty food :)
    Enjoy your stay in NYC! How are you liking the heat?

    ReplyDelete
  31. Lovely place but if the sevice is bad...

    ReplyDelete
  32. Amazing!! even though I lived in NYC I never went there, but when I visit I will definitely go!



    http://theshoeplayground.blogspot.com/

    ReplyDelete
  33. I don't know how I missed this post :( Sorry to hear that you had bad service, I guest it is inevitable anywhere you go. Well you can think of it as been there done that :) xoxo

    ReplyDelete

© ANOUK | All rights reserved.